Congratulations Brandon Christophe on receiving the 2020 Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence

January 22, 2021

The Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons proudly presents the annual Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence to exceptional employees, or groups of employees, for their outstanding performance and contributions. Initiated in 2008, this award is intended to inspire all of us to strive for the very highest level of excellence by recognizing some of our truly exceptional people.

Photo of brandon christophe and doctor sander connolly
Brandon Christophe and Dr. E. Sander Connolly, Jr.

This year, our very own, Brandon Christophe received the Diversity Award. Brandon, a senior researcher in neurological surgery, has been a driving force in creating research mentorship programs that draw a diverse talent pool to the Department of Neurological Surgery. Since 2015 Brandon has facilitated this program, recruiting over 65 undergraduates, NIH T-35 training grant recipients, and medical students conducting scholarly projects. In that time, over 50% of these students self-identify as members of a diverse group (race, color, creed, age, national origin, gender/identity, LGBT, and/or disability). During the pandemic, he has led departmental efforts to launch a virtual research mentorship program for students.

Our department chair, Dr. Sander Connolly presented the award to Brandon by stating that, “Brandon has been instrumental in helping us promote diversity and inclusion within the department, the university and across the greater medical community. The impact of his efforts will be felt for years to come.”

Once again, congratulations Brandon!